Gift of the Magi by morethanmyself – Review by Ange de l’aube

GoM

As a judge for the “Baby, it’s Cold Outside” Contest I had the opportunity to read amazing entries that warmed my heart — in spite of the wintry theme — and made me cry as well. Gift of the Magi by morethanmyself is a fine example of this.

The story starts with Bella coming back home to her dad six days before Christmas. She has been married to Edward Masen for 3 years, and somehow it seems like her marriage is already falling apart. So much so, she feels the need to get away and return to her childhood home.

She’s so depressed that frankly you can’t help but feel bad for her. She tries to go through the motions and we see her attempting to come to grips with what went wrong in her marriage as Christmas day draws closer.

While she tries to recoup, and figure out what she should do next, she goes along with Charlie. He valiantly tries to keep her afloat when all she wants is to sink down into depression.  Thus, he makes her breakfast – or tries to – takes her shopping for a Christmas tree, etc. However, as Charlie tries to distract her, we can see Bella reminiscing in the ups and downs of her marriage as if she could find exactly when things went wrong hidden within those memories.

Edward, we need to…,” but he silenced me with his tongue caressing mine and when he entered me moments later I couldn’t remember what it was I was telling him. He was stretching me, filling me, touching everywhere I needed him to be. I looked up into his eyes and for the first time in months I saw my Edward looking back, actually seeing me. He had the same look of adoration that he used to wear routinely. Overcome with emotion, I wrapped my arms around his body, burying my face in the crook of his neck, clinging to him as we made love desperately. It wasn’t long before I was drowning in pleasure. Wave after wave crashed over me and I sobbed in relief, crying out his name. As my orgasm ebbed away, Edward gave in, coming with whispered words of love and devotion. We fell asleep shortly afterwards, wrapped up in each other’s arms. I felt hopeful that things were going to be different.

The next morning, I woke up to a cold bed. Edward wasn’t there. And he wasn’t in the kitchen, either. There was a note taped to the top of the long-cold coffee maker saying he was at work. Again. It was another Saturday without French toast together. All the tentative hope I’d had the night before evaporated. Nothing had changed at all. I didn’t understand why he didn’t want to spend time together anymore. But, I was too afraid of the answer to even ask.

This story is  not without mystery, since little reminders of Edward’s presence keep popping up in Bella’s life. Things like their preferred breakfast food being delivered to her father’s house, a mysterious girl who gives her a bough wreath wrapped with the same ribbon that had been wrapped around the box in which her engagement ring came in, make Bella’s memories even more real to her.

Gift of the Magi by morethanmyself is a story that could happen to any of us, about a marriage that is on the rocks, not for lack of love but for the jadedness that comes from routine. It’s a lovely story that will fill you with hope, as it seems full of serendipitous events that will lead Bella towards her true fate – the one she has to make for herself.

Find this story here: http://www.fanfiction.net/s/6560665/1/Gift_of_the_Magi

Leave a Reply

