Doing some House cleaning

So I woke up this morning to the news that ImageShack pulled a Tinypic. For those who don’t know the story behind my hate for tinypic let me tell you a little story.

A few months back when I was starting with this blog and with all the graphic stuff I do now, I used to host everything in tinypic.

Tinypic is part of Photobucket, has been for a while, and still the service remained free. However, one day the execs at Tinypic decided that they have been cool enough about giving free Image Hosting services and cut us down cold turkey, no warning whatsoever.






Tinypic is no longer accepting uploads from international locations, and links are turned off. If you have content on Tinypic, you can still view the URLs and the content, but only on Tinypic. To upload, share, or link content, please go to Photobucket.com to register an account. You will need to upload your content again to your Photobucket account, but you will be able to share and link your images and videos. We’re sorry for the inconvenience and hope that you enjoy Photobucket, our premier image and video site.


Suffice to say I had a mini-stroke that night. Anywho, after a night of making me suffer with my Blog full of “Image No longer Available” Tinypic Blocked Images, they posted this:

We heard from many of our users in regards to these changes and we appreciate your feedback. Tinypic has restored linking to your images and enabled uploading. Please rest assured no content was removed from the site. We tried to notify users on Tinypic and requested they move their content to Photobucket. Unfortunately this messaging was insufficient and has taken many of our users by surprise and we apologize. Our intent was to begin combining some of the best features of Tinypic and Photobucket, thereby offering users a better experience. Any changes in the future will be better communicated. Once again, we apologize for the inconvenience.


All images started working again as good as new. However, if you had an account you will still have it, if you didn’t you can no longer create accounts there.

Now onto the why of this story. I don’t know about you my Americans friends, but down here, in South America, all I see when I look at an image hotlinked from Imageshack is this:

frog

I did some digging around and apparently in a move to increase their traffic they are making webmasters register their domains on Imageshack, otherwise (if you don’t have a domain) the only way to view the hotlinked image is creating an account with them and viewing it on their site. 😦

Really bad news for a big part of the fandom who depended on Imageshack.

So, today I deleted all the things I had in my blog hotlinked to my Imageshack account, and reuploaded to my Photobucket – which is Pro as of December 27, 2010.

The images are still in Imageshack, I just don’t use those links in my Blog anymore to avoid the frogs. Also, that way I will no longer have issues with any greedy Image Hosting service that tries to pull this on me and the rest of their unsuspecting users.

There were a few Banners affected (post-tinypic debacle and pre-Photobucket upgrade to Pro) which I’ll list here:

If you were using my link from Imageshack to hotlink your banners on Twilighted, The Writer’s Coffee Shop, My Vampfiction, etc. Chances are your international readers are only seeing the frog as I am. If you want the new Photobucket Link (which is a paid account so it will not have this problem ever again) just click on the links provided.

That’s the direct link to the image and can be used to insert the banner anywhere (blogs, Archives like Twilighted and the Writer’s Coffee Shop, Web Sites, etc.) If you had the banner in your Forum signature just replace the image link in your code:

and it should work.

Your banners are still and will stay hosted in Imageshack, but I just wanted to give you this option because if I see the frog, people in other countries might see it too.

If you need any help whatsoever don’t hesitate to email me.

4 thoughts on “Doing some House cleaning

    • Oh yeah after the first time they went all crazy on me I stopped using them altogether and started researching my options. I’m not completely happy with Photobucket because they have an annoying TOS a la Fanfiction.net but it’s definitely the cheapest, safest option…

      I just wish they didn’t all get so greedy the moment they have enough following/users …Grrr.

Leave a Reply

